Good Enough…

I have been thinking about this for the last while…  Being good enough.  Not in the way of I’m *not* good enough, but in being *just* good enough.

Somewhere, I’ve gotten into the habit of being *just* good enough.

*Just* passing my courses.

*Just* finishing a project.

*Just* passing skillz enough to play in bouts.

The problem with *just* good enough… is that I’m walking the fine line of  good enough and *not* good enough. 

And if I’m not good enough… well… just think for 2 seconds, how that phrase feels… “I’m not good enough”

Doesn’t matter what I’m not good enough at or for, that sentence ends at “I’m not good enough”

Heard once or twice, that sentence can be ignored… words are allowed to run off like water off a duck.

Heard over and over again… it erodes confidence.  It sabotages relationships.  It leaves you sitting on a couch weighing 125lbs more than you should because you are REALLY good at eating.

Heard as a child, it leaves you struggling over a lifetime to be *good enough*   A casual remark, meant to encourage, instead devastates.   A comment made in jest, leaves you bleeding and broken.   An observation leaves you left feeling ugly and unloveable.

I have tried to retrain my brain, and not send those messages to my children and my friends and family.

The hardest part is telling myself that I’m good enough.  Allowing myself to accept that I AM good enough.   That good enough is a starting point to getting BETTER.  That it is the beginning of EXCELLING. 

I don’t want to be *just* good enough.

I want to be F***ing Perfect.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Health, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Enough…

  1. missscarlett says:

    Oh my! I totally do the same thing.

    “The hardest part is telling myself that I’m good enough.” How sadly true is that?

    Here’s to trying harder!!!

Leave a Reply

