Shhhh… be vewwie vewwie quiet…

…. I’m hunting wabbits… heheheheh

Ok, I’m not hunting them… but this morning’s walk around the 4 Lakes Trail was quiet enough to feel like we could have been.

We started at the Stump Lake trailhead, across from the Alice Lake gatehouse.   I like doing the trail in this direction because of where the water is.  We had our dogs with us, and didn’t want to carry extra water from them.

It was slow going at first.  Trying to control dogs on leash and walk up the narrow trail while still having a conversation was difficult.

I had forgotten about the hills.  I like the hills, but my body doesn’t like them, much.   I was smarter on my hike this morning than I was last week.  Each time I stopped for breath or a sip of water, I’d stretch out my legs and lower back.

We reached the Cheekeye River, and let the dogs off leash for a drink.  When we got back to the trail, we left the dogs off leash and let them run.  The would run a ways up the trail, then we’d call them back.  So they ran the trail 2 or 3 times what we did 😉

It was so quiet in there.  I would imagine because it is a Monday, we only ran into other hikers 2-3 times.   It felt like we had the trail all to ourselves.

The sunlight broke through the trees here and there, letting us alternate between walking in shade and sunlight, and we could hear the sounds of rivers & creeks as we walked.

The last 2 km were the most fun, I think.  The dogs were running ahead of us, and we were crossing over and walking beside a creek, so they would stop, jump in the water, have a drink and we’d carry on.

When we reached Alice Lake, we releashed the dogs and took the long way.  We got slightly turned around, but not really *lost* 😉

In all, it took us 2 hours to hike 8km.   As tired as I am, I enjoyed today FAR more than last week when I did the Chief.

Now… to stretch… and nap :p

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

