I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead…

How many of you have a friend who’s said that?  Or have said it yourself?

Problem is, if you’re not getting enough sleep, that might come sooner than you’d like.

Sleep is vital on so many levels.

If you don’t get enough sleep, you spend your day in a fog, trying desperately to get your energy up to workable levels and then keeping it there.   Usually this starts with the morning coffee.  If you’re like me, sugar & milk are added.  That will bring your energy up a bit… but if not, there’s a second coffee.

When you crash from the coffee’s, its the morning pastry or junk food.  The body automatically craves those things… a cinnamon bun, a donut, cookies… something that will give you a quick burst of energy to get you going again.  Plus more coffee.

By mid-afternoon, you’ve crashed again.  Bring on the pastry and coffee again.  Or maybe ice cream if its a hot day.

That’s NOT a healthy way to live.

So aside from avoiding the crash & burn WHY do we need sleep?  How does it affect your ability to get and stay fit, and does WHEN you sleep make a difference?

The answers are in the hormones leptin & ghrelin.  Two studies have been made on the effect on sleep and weight loss/gain. A study done by Stanford shows a direct corrolation between the number of hours you sleep and how much you weigh.

Put simply:  The more you sleep, the smaller your BMI.  In persons who slept than 8 hours per night, increased BMI was proportional to decreased sleep.

Sleep matters.

As far as when you sleep?  My own personal experience is that the 8 hours I get between 10pm and 6 am are FAR more restful than the 8 hours I get between 2am & 10am.  Usually I’m still draggy the next day if I stay up late – even if I’ve slept as much or more than my 8 hours.

I have a natural rhythm of sleep at 10pm and awake at 6am.  It will sometimes shift slightly, but on average, I go to bed around the same time every day and wake up around the same time every day.

I will sleep when I’m dead…. but I’m planning that to be far in the future because I get enough sleep now 🙂

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Health, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead…

  1. missscarlett says:

    oh man. I have the worst sleep schedule.
    Sleep is always my last priority.
    I know lack of sleep also contributes to weight gain! so you’d think I’d get on top of a normal bedtime routine.

    Ahhh…thanks for reminding me to set a sleep goal!

    (have to put the books down)

Leave a Reply

