Aiming for a six-pack…

Yesterday I fell.  Several times.  I am unsteady on my skates and I keep falling as a result.

There’s a commercial on TV – its for a pain reliever and talks about how your muscles support you but only if they don’t hurt you.  The commercial usually catches my eye because its a man and a woman doing isometric exercises – he’s holding her up with his hands while she does handstands on him.   Strong people.

I am unsteady on my skates for a few reasons:

1. My core muscles are jello.  Put them into proper derby stance and they lock up and hurt.

2. My centre of  balance is off.  Because those core muscles are jello, my belly throws my centre of balance off.

3. I keep effin falling.   Yeah, now not only am I in less than optimum fitness, I am scared because falling HURTS.

Clearly, in order to increase the likelihood that I will GET steady on my skates, I’m going to have to put some serious work in.

I’m starting C25K on Monday with a running buddy.  That will help with the endurance.

Practice 2X per week will help with my skating skills.

And my core.   My morning workouts will be dedicated to my core.

Let the research begin.

In all the websites, the magazines, the books I’ve read, I’ve seen these 5 exercises overlap as “best for core” exercises:

1. The plank and variations (side plank, reverse plank, pushups)

2. Hip lift.  (we do this at derby practice)

3. Lunges (with a twist)

4. Crunches and variations

5. Supermans

With my morning workout focussed on my core, I can then use the evening runs & derby practice to focus on endurance.

Apparently whacking my head again knocked some sense into me…

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aiming for a six-pack…

  1. Michelle says:

    Jane, nice blog. You are interesting writer and have some very realistic goals.

    Enjoy your time doing what you seem to love doing.

  2. Sue! says:

    I was just wondering the other day what happened to you. Have you been keeping up the healthy lifestyle all this time? Or….?
    It is amazing how quickly you can get fit if you keep at it, and to work your core. Agree with the poster on the other site; your muscles are not ‘jello’ though; you just need to work them. It’s also amazing how quickly you can get strong if you work your core. Do some cardio first, then use weights so you get a double work out. There are some great programs out there, for plank-type exercises, 100 push up type of things. Or, get a trainer for a one time session and get him or her, to devise a program for you. And, do things you enjoy – bike, hike, skate, swim…. Weights really get the weight to drop though, as your fat turns to muscle (then you have to be careful you don’t drop too much, because muscle uses up more calories, even when you’re resting, than fat does).
    Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

