5.45am sucks…

I have some idiosyncrasies… we all do.

For me, with regards to exercise, at least, I need to exercise either in the morning when my family isn’t up, or as part of a larger group.

I don’t want to exercise in public, alone.

Its irrational, its unreasonable, its a bit odd.  I know this.  And I’m trying towork with this.

On the surface, this doesn’t seem to be a major problem.  After all, just set the alarm earlier than anyone else, get up, and exercise.  Right?

In theory.

The first part of the puzzle is that I’m a night owl.   I like to stay up and watch the 11pm news.  I like to see the weather with Wayne Cox.  And I like to read before I fall asleep.

The second piece of this puzzle is that I need a minimum of 7 hours sleep to be fully functional.  Most people do, but for me – its necessary, not just a luxury.  I can and do have days where I get less and I function well for that day, but the couple days after I’m a walking zombie until I’ve gotten my requisite 7 hours for a couple days in a row.  Preferably I’ve slept at least 9 hours one of those nights.

So combine the night owl, with the need for 7 hours sleep and the 5.45am wake up to get my exercise in before the family gets up and you have a seriously mismatched puzzle.

When the alarm goes off, I argue with myself.  I whine at myself.  I make promises to myself about how I will workout later.  I usually go back to sleep.

Not today. I whined, I argued, I promised.  I ignored myself and got up.

Don’t get me wrong – 5.45am REALLY sucks.   But derby is more important to me than maintaining an unworkable routine.  And I can’t get better at derby with just the 1 or 2 practices a week – I need to add dryland training as well.

So Jillian Michaels and I had a date this morning.  Yoga Meltdown is a 30 minute workout – I did 12 mins of it.   Baby steps.

But I got up this morning.  Now to make it a habit.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5.45am sucks…

  1. Good for you Jane! I too hate getting up in the mornings. I refuse to get up early enough to workout before I start work. As it is I have to get up at 5:50am to be ready for work at 6am (love being able to stay in my jammies). So no way am I getting up at 4:30am to workout. So when I get up for work I’ll be think of you and maybe your ears will ring to much to stay asleep,lol

Leave a Reply

