Support Systems

I had coffee with a friend I don’t get to see enough tonight.  She’s an awesome lady.  Very much into fitness and health, and I love her for it.   She’ a great person with lots of energy and fun to be around.

After I left, she sent me a text:

Jane, you are a beautiful & vibrant young woman.  Please!  Start taking care of yourself now!  I love you & you can tell me to get lost but I won’t! You are stuck with me & I will help in any way!

This text floored me. I have a tendency to see myself as “apart” from everyone I know.  There’s very few people I call “friend” and out of those, even fewer who I spend time with regularly.  So I tend to see people as … not uncaring, but somewhat indifferent because they are busy in their lives.

So to receive a text like that… made me realize that I DO have a support system.  I DO have a network of people who want to see me succeed.

I saw that at skillz testing as well.  Everyone was incredibly supportive and encouraging to all of us freshies.   I remember one specific team member who stuck out in her encouragement.  Pushing us to go harder, go faster, you can DO it!  And I did 17 laps.

Its all in my head.  All the negative crap.   It comes from years ago when someone I looked up to told me I’d look good in a neglige when I “lost 50lbs”.  It comes from grade 11 sewing class where classmates called me a fat cow.

But its all in my head.

Someone once told me that positive thinking is powerful – but negative thinking is 1000 times MORE powerful.   We remember the bad stuff and the people who hurt us more than the good and the people who were our friends.

Who knows?  Maybe high school wasn’t the hell I remember it to be.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Support Systems

  1. Bela says:

    Good friends are awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

