Hey! Its not about derby!!

Oh wait.  Yes it is :p

Sorta.  Kinda.  Not really.

So I don’t get to skate as much as I want because I don’t want to ruin my bearings and it rains here.   AND we don’t have indoor practice space.

Which means that in order to get into derby shape and build my endurance, I need to find other ways of exercising.

So I’ve been doing some reading.

It started with the Roller Derby Workout DVD.  I bought it.  Its quite good, and I curse and swear all through it.   It works the appropriate muscles and I like it 🙂

And of course  there’s always Jillian Michael’s Yoga DVD.   That’s yoga for masochists.  It’s a GREAT workout.  Also, great for flexibility and shaping your body.

I need to build endurance and increase my cardio, so I’m thinking about the Couch to 5K plan.  I’ve never been a runner – but this looks like something I could do.  I don’t have to DO it in 9 weeks – I can always choose to repeat days or weeks while I build up my endurance.  At any rate – its a beginner’s running program – and I never did do that 5k run I’d planned.   I think that if I were to start now – I could do a 5K run by my birthday 🙂

The other thing that has me going hmmm…. is Tabata Training .  That looks like something I could do.  I’m good with short bursts of intense energy.  (or at least I like to tell myself that I am)  I’ve never seen this but I look at it and think – 4 minutes of intensity…. I could do 4 minutes of intensity.  After all, my derby endurance is 5 minutes of intensity…

Those are the workouts that I am inspired to do outside derby practice.

See? I told you it wasn’t about derby… not entirely.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

