How badly do I want this?

Yeah, I know.  Lately most of my posts are about roller derby lately but roller derby has gotten under my skin in a way that no other sport has.

I didn’t feel this good going to the gym.

I didn’t feel this good playing ball.

I didn’t feel this good doing ANYTHING else.

Nothing has given me the same sense of purpose as derby.

So how badly do I want this?

My sticking point is endurance.   The other skills are do-able; I think I could probably pass *most* of them next week.

I’ve always said, I have strength, but no endurance.  (way to make something come true!!)

So now I’m in a sport where endurance is vitally important.  I have to be able to do 25 laps around a regulation track in 5 mins or less.

How badly do I want this?  How badly do I want to be on the “team” and not just fresh meat?

Apparently fairly badly.   I’m willing to risk ridicule/laughter by my neighbors by skating in front of my house.  I get up at 5.45am and do a Roller Derby Workout substitute.

I will test before the August 27 bout.   I’ve got 6 days before the roster is set and 18 days before the bout.  That means skating EVERY day until they test again.

I want this badly.  Who wants to skate?

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How badly do I want this?

  1. I can totally relate to this post Jane. I’m the same way; the gym, videos, boot camps and other sports have just not held my interest nor motivated me enough to really do something drastic but derby has. I can’t wait to go to practice, to learn something new, to fall and to leave practice dripping in sweat. I have an hour commute and I don’t think twice about it and it takes me a good 3hrs after practice to settle down in order to sleep. We just learned our 7’s last night and did some sprints. While I did well in the 1min sprints I’m not looking forward to the 5min laps. I too suck at endurance. I really need to get out and run to build up my endurance as there are no outdoor areas to skate on. I test on the 29th so I’ll be watching for a post on how you do. Good Luck Jane!!!!!

  2. Sarah says:

    I’m skating with you in spirit. If I lived closer it would be in person. You’ve mastered the crossover now and that’s half the battle to do 25 laps in 5 minutes!

Leave a Reply

