Insanity

I’m starting to feel like I’m repeating myself.  I looked over the past few posts and realized that they had the same theme… and this one was going to have the same theme as well.

I don’t know about you – but I would lose interest in a blog that said the same thing over and over and over.  

I’ve heard a definition of insanity:

Doing the same thing over and over, but expecting different results.

This can be applied to many areas of life.

I wake up in the morning, raring to go.  I have a healthy breakfast, my lunch is packed with lots of healthy foods, and then 2pm hits. 

I don’t know what to do different, but at 2pm the sugar cravings kick in and I’m crawling inside my skin for something sweet.  I try water.  I try coffee.  I invariably end up with chocolate or a baked good.

I get home, my amazing meal is cooked, and ZOMG it tastes like more…

After the kids go to bed, there’s usually some sort of snack for the adults – lately its been popcorn, sometimes its chips.   Oh the other night, it was sushi :p

But the thing is, my routine isn’t working for me.  I’m following the same routine, still not losing weight or getting healthy, but I expect to.

Insanity.

I was blow-drying my hair a couple days ago, staring at my bathroom wall.  This is where I recorded my weight and period for the past 3 years.

February 2, 2010, I was 246.
July 6, 2010, I was 268.5

I had gained 22.5 lbs in those 5 months.   Since then, I’ve fluctuated between 246 – 277.  But I keep doing the same things.

Anyone out there remember that blonde chick… “STOP THE INSANITY!!”

Yesterday I removed those weights.  I don’t need to be reminded of what I weighed 2 years ago and how much I’ve gained/lost.   I need to focus on today, and what I’m doing today that will get me to where I want to be tomorrow. 

On today’s plan?   Eat a healthy lunch, and go to derby tonight.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

