Derby ROCKS!!!

I’ve been doing derby for 4 or 5 months now.  Sporadically, not consistently, but I have been doing it.  I love skating.  Skating doesn’t love me though.

Every practice, I’ve had to stop and rest so my back would stop seizing up on me.   My feet hurt.  My hips hurt.  Oh… and breathing is a problem.

These are the pitfalls of being severely overweight and trying to do something seriously physical.

Tonight though… 3 weeks of not skating (holidays etc) and I was more than a little concerned.

Took two naproxen, two tylenol about an hour before skating.

This was the best practice EVER.

Our lovely coach of the day announced that we would be doing endurance.   Endurance is not something I enjoy.  Think about it.

Endurance… sufferance… Oh wait.  That’s my old way of thinking.

Endurance.  Stamina.  Strength.  THAT’s what I’m training for tonight.  This is not for pain and suffering, but for strength, stamina, perseverance.

And just like that, the light switch flipped.

I skated until I hurt, and then I did another lap before stopping for a short rest.

I waited until I couldn’t feel my feet before I sat down to wake them up.

I didn’t give up.

And I had the best freaking practice since I started derby.  I enjoyed every minute of it – especially the game of tag.   Although the bear “walks” were pretty fun too.

My goal is to be a full fledged member of the team by August 20.  There’s a bout in Kamloops on August 27 that I want to be playing in.  I have taken the weekend off to ensure my availability.

At the end of the night, my hamstring is tight, and I need to do more stretches.  I need to drink about a litre of water to replace what I’ve sweated out.  I’m bouncy and energetic and almost feel like I could run a mile.  My feet still hurt.

But yeah.  Derby rocks.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Derby ROCKS!!!

  1. I’m loving derby too! I’ve only had 2 sessions as I missed the very first one. Oh bear walks. I did those on my very 1st fresh meat session. Did not like them. I’m very surprised at how quickly the skills are coming. Yes, derby is definitely more of a mental sport before an athletic one. Gotta get over all the mental crap before you can improve. I’m so not looking forward to the endurance part of the game. Good luck and I hope you can play in Kamloops!

Leave a Reply

