Regrouping…

I last blogged on April 6.   I think that was the start of my downward spiral.

I had good reason though – I talked to my Dad for the last time shortly after that – he passed away 3 days later.

I think about all the ‘excuses’ we give ourselves to skip the workout, eat the Big Mac or over indulge in alcohol.

Its my birthday.
Its Easter.
My dad passed away.
My kids are sick.
I’m running late (again).

The reality is … that’s life.   Life happens.  Life goes on.  Life doesn’t stop so I can get fit.  It doesn’t stop while I’m trying to win a weight loss contest.  It keeps going.  And going.  And going.

And that’s the problem with fad diets or time-specific weight loss programs… they’re bound to fail because life happens and they are NOT sustainable.

My dad passed away.  I spent a week laying on my couch, being sad.  I stopped eating healthy, I didn’t go to the gym or to derby.     Then Easter happened.   Next is my hubby’s birthday, Mother’s Day, my son’s birthday, Father’s Day, my brother’s birthday, my other son’s birthday, the family camping trip, my anniversary, Labor Day weekend, Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, my birthday, Valentines Day, and then … crap, we’re back at Easter.    Life doesn’t stop.

So now I’m regrouping.

I’ve been to the gym 4 days this week.  I am aware of my eating, but haven’t been tracking it.   I’ll go back to using Loseit.com – I found that to be an extremely helpful tool – and make better choices.

Its about making lifestyle changes.  Making choices on a daily basis that SUPPORT weight loss and a healthy lifestyle, instead of making excuses why I needed to eat those last 2 pumpkin tarts with Bailey’s whipped cream on top…. (zomg those were good)

Welcome to life.  It happens. 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Regrouping…

  1. Bela says:

    Yes life happens and life sucks but all we really have is our health so we need to make it priority. Yup its definately hard at times but it sounds like you are getting back on track. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

