Heading in the right direction

Its discouraging to not see the scale move for weeks on end. 

This morning, I saw it move in the right direction… and it feels good knowing that my hard work this week has paid off.  Now to up the output or lower the input and have that number get smaller.

If you’ve ever had to lose weight… do you remember that number?  You know, the one that as you were going up the scale, you went ‘ZOMG!! I can’t believe I’m THAT heavy!!!”

And then you peak at your top weight and suddenly … THAT weight is a goal weight.  THAT weight is somewhere you want to be.

I had  friend who, after the birth of her child, was 3lbs above her pre-pregnancy weight.  3lbs. 

Those 3lbs started a weight struggle.  She’s significantly more than those 3lbs now, and still struggling.

I wonder, in our quest to be “skinny” how many of us sabotage ourselves?

The uber skinny mom of 3 who has a baby pouch – doing P90X because its “disgusting”

The 19 year old girl who freaks about being ‘fat’ because she weighs 128lbs and she’s 5’10”

The new mom with 30lbs still to lose who looks at something sexy and gets told “when you lose 50lbs it might look good on you” and takes it to heart.

I remember being 170lbs.  And thinking I was a freaking WHALE.

And my latest post… Jabba the Hut.

Today, I stepped on the scale and saw I’d gone down 1.5lbs.  I’m now 267.5.   I’m looking at that, hoping desperately that I’ll make it to below 260 by the end of April.  Even better if I can get below 255.

Those are weights I told my husband to shoot me if I ever got “THAT FAT” and now they’re my goal weights.

I need to be gentler on myself.  Beating myself up simply because I have gained weight or not lost as much as I’d like will not help me.  Celebrating the success of having eaten healthy all day will. 

We all need to be gentler with ourselves.   Today, I celebrate the 1.5lb weight loss and the fact that I stuck with it this week. 

Time to move on to more success 🙂

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

