Jabba the Hut and…. DERBY!!!!

I have been regularly exercising this week.  Food is not so healthy – but still within ok calorie ranges.

Tonight, I went to the gym with my good friend Coree… after our cardio, I went and sat down on one of the benches and looked up and saw myself in the mirror.

I think I look pretty good standing up.

Sitting down? From my hips to my boobs… there’s these … rolls.  Think Jabba the Hut.  At least that’s what I saw when I sat there.

What a freaking blow to my confidence. 

I texted my dismay to my hubby  – and he responded with “FUCKING STOP THAT”

It was a bit of a wake up call.  I don’t like how I LOOK.  I don’t like how I FEEL.  But I love that I have been and will continue to do something about it.

After the gym – Naomi picked me up for an open Derby practice.

If you don’t know what roller derby is – check out the trailers for Whip It! – this team plays on flat track not banked track but its pretty much the same.

I have not been on roller skates in 30 years. 

I EFFEN LOVE IT!!!

Its all about finding the rhythm…. and then moving with it.  There’s technique I don’t know but I’m familiar with how to hold myself and how to move.  Now to convince my body to do it. :p

I love it.  I’m hooked.  I want my body to move the way I know it can. 

Next practice is Sunday morning.  I have already found my knee and elbow pads, my bike helmet and I’ll use those for the time being… borrow skates… but I am so hooked on this.  Its THE sport for me 🙂

Jabba the Hut is being given an eviction notice…

In the end it comes down to your thinking
And there’s really nobody to blame
When it feels like your ship is sinking
And you’re too tired to play the game

Nobody’s going to help you
You’ve just gotta stand up alone
And dig in your heels and see how it feels
To Raise a little Hell of your own

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Health, Self-esteem, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

