Back from Revelstoke

I didn’t post before I left… and didn’t post while I was gone…

I went last week to see my Dad.  He’s got terminal cancer, and it doesn’t look like he will be coming home.

Before I left, I researched the local area gyms, to the best of my ability.  I did some looking into the aquatic centre because the pool there is awesome and I thought perhaps while I was gone I could do the aquacize classes they have.

I forgot my bathing suit.  I did look in the (all of) 3 stores in Revelstoke to purchase another one – but one store was out of bathing suits, one only had suits up to size 18 and the last was a high end store – $100 a suit.  Not going to happen.

So I checked out the one gym I could find.

I walked in wearing my runners, checked out the pricing, it was reasonable – ish although I really didn’t want to spend $50 to work out for a week.

The sign at the front of the gym deterred me entirely. 

“Indoor shoes only past this point”

Ummm… I was wearing my only pair of runners – and was not about to go buy another pair so that was out of the question.

Needless to say – I didn’t get any workouts done this week.  I didn’t even go for a walk beyond walking from my car to my dad’s hospital room.

I had a lot of time to think though.  I don’t sleep well when I’m not in my own bed; I don’t sleep well when I’m not with my hubby; I don’t sleep well under stress.   I really didn’t sleep well this week.    So I thought, a lot.

My dad worked as a mechanic for a number of years, so that could have contributed to his lung cancer.

But he smoked.  Every day from the time he was 14.

And as I reflect on him, sitting in the hospital bed, cancer eating at his lungs, his liver, his brain and his stomach, him asking to be taken down to have a smoke, I wonder… WTF??

Smoking causes heart disease, lung cancer, high blood pressure and a host of other health problems… yet people keep doing it.    Even lying in a hospital bed, unable to stand up on their own, smokers continue to want to do it.

I’m glad I don’t smoke.  I wish my loved ones would quit – I don’t want to have to go through this again. 

I’m grateful that my husband no longer smokes.  He did when I met him – and quit on our wedding day…. mostly.  He continued to smoke cigars occasionally up until he had  a heart attack.   He hasn’t smoked anything since.

I am hoping to see my Dad again in July when I’m up there.  

In the meantime – its time to get my own health in order… there are many health problems associated with being overweight.   I would like to prevent/reverse them.   I need to – so my children don’t have to watch ME go through what I am watching my dad go through…

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

