Creating Habits

“They” say it takes 3 weeks to create a habit. 21 days of repeat before it becomes a part of your life.

And somehow that’s going to override the habits I’ve had in place for years and years…?

This is what “they” tell me.   I’m not sure because I haven’t deliberately set out to change a habit before.  I’ve not consciously made the effort.

I think it all comes from living mindfully, living in the moment, vs living on autopilot.

Yesterday, my co-worker won a free bag of groceries (go Aidan!!)  and when he sorted through, he offered up a chocolate bar because he and his wife don’t eat much chocolate.

I love chocolate.  Especially Ritter Sport.  Yummy little squares of chocolately goodness… 😀 And this is what he was offering.  I automatically claimed the chocolate, popped it into my desk drawer and didn’t think much about it.

All without thinking. 

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not about to completely deprive myself of treats – I want to ENJOY life.   But really – I need to stop and THINK about what I’m eating.   Its habit to eat mindlessly…

About 10 minutes later I gave him back the chocolate.

The biggest part of changing my habits, for me so far, is being aware of my life.

We get up in the morning, and our routine kicks in.  This could be a great routine involving exercise, healthy eating & interactions with the kids, or it could involve sitting watching tv, drinking coffee and yelling at the kids from another room.   But its routine – done on auto-pilot, without thinking.

We get in our vehicles, drive to work or drive to the school, and take the same route to work every day.  Unless we make the effort to focus on driving, we’ve got half attention on the road, and the rest of our mind is focussed on the working day ahead, what activities the kids have later, did I get that report done etc.  It’s routine – done on auto-pilot, without thinking.

The rest of the day is much the same – this is why we have alarms on our phones to remind us of appointments and deviations in our daily routine.  Its all done on auto-pilot, without thinking.

In order to change that, we have to stop, think and actually pay attention to what we do.  

Some routines are good – they ensure that things that need to be done, get done.

But when those routines are destructive or unhealthy – its time for a change. 

I have changed my morning habit of hitting the snooze button over and over again.  Today was day two.  Only 19 to go before it is habit 😛

What habit do you want to change?

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creating Habits

  1. Kathleen in Canada says:

    My big thing is being more punctual when it comes to gym time. I’ve got two classes to attend, one on Monday and one on Thursday, and I’ll get all ready to leave on Monday (with Colin) only to miss the bus by *this* much. And I’ll find on Thursdays that I’ve got dinner prepared for about the same time as the bus goes by.

    It’s tricky because I often don’t get home from work until almost 4pm and we have to be out the door by just after 5pm to catch the bus… which doesn’t give much time for dinner prep. I need to organize better and plan leftovers or really quick dinners for these nights.

Leave a Reply

