Promises, Biggest Loser and Being Organized…

First, the end of the local Biggest Loser contest… yours truely came in 2nd place having lost 4.15% of my body weight over the course of 8 weeks.  The winner lost more than 7%… Congratulations to her!!! 🙂

Last night, I went to bed early.  I wanted to get up and go to the gym this morning, and my hubby asked me what he could do to help me. (He’s my biggest enabler)  I said, “Just get up with me and remind me that I WANT to do this”

The alarm went off this morning at 5.45am.   I burst out of bed, hit the snooze button and climb back in bed.  There are several thoughts running through my head.

“He’s not getting up with me, its HIS fault if I don’t work out”
“I’m tired, a little more sleep is good for me”
“I really should get up and work out – but no one will know but me if I don’t”

And as I was laying there, half asleep, drifting back to sleep…. a thought process from a book I’d read a couple years ago started running through my head:

“You’re only breaking a promise to yourself – aren’t you worth keeping promises to?”

That’s paraphrasing it.  I don’t remember even the exact book it was from – but one by Stephen Covey or his son.

I just know that it startled me awake and I had to examine it for a bit.

I have started diets, workout programs, and stopped all of them.   I have broken promises to myself over and over and over.  And who is it hurting?

Me.   By extension, my family, because they get to deal with cranky me, but really – just myself.   In the end, my family will likely not want to be around me if I’m cranky.

I’m not “cheating” against my personal trainer.  I’m not “cheating” my accountability buddy.  I’m cheating ME.

A while back, I posted that I was worth it, and I still believe that I am, but now I need to start acting as if I am. 

I am worth the hour in the morning to get to the gym and move my body.  I am worth healthy food.  I am worth doing what is necessary to get my body as healthy as possible.  I am friggen WORTH treating myself well.

I’ll get to the organized part of this post later – this turned out to be longer than I thought.

I am worth it.  Are you?

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Promises, Biggest Loser and Being Organized…

  1. Kathleen in Canada says:

    Wow… congratulations and I love that quote!

  2. Sharon says:

    Congrats!!!!

    I so needed to hear this today. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

