Being Organized

So I get my butt out of bed this morning, and while I’m moving towards the gym, I have to do the usual.  Things like let the dog outside, make coffee, get dressed, grab my stuff for my workout. 

I rummage quietly around in my bedroom, looking for my workout clothes.  I find the pants, find the bra and realize I don’t have a shirt.  Dammit.   Its either in my dresser (deep darkness – no chance of finding an appropriate shirt in there) or on the pile of folded laundry on the couch.

Immediately the thoughts start “I don’t HAVE to go.  I can do something here, just wearing my pants & bra.”  (Yeah, I’m classy like that :p)

I find a shirt.  I’m just about ready, just have to put my socks & shoes on and I look over to the key hangers.

No keys.  Ok, lots of keys, but none of which will start my Jeep.   The thoughts start again.

“Its going to take forever to find the keys, by the time I do, I won’t have enough time to workout.  WHY BOTHER”

See, I can talk myself out of anything.   Why bother going to the gym?  I can do a workout at home (I won’t though), I can do the workout later (I won’t – I have plans, sort of)  Do I REALLY need to do this?

Woah. 

Wait.

Back up the bus.

I am 270lbs.   Not just 10 – 20 lbs overweight – but 110-120 lbs overweight!  YES I need to do this!!

I fill my water bottle, head down the stairs, put on socks and shoes and grab my husband’s keys out of his jacket pocket.

There were several things about my morning that I will need to adjust in order to ensure I have no excuses, no mental ‘reasons’ not to go to the gym in the morning.

1. Have my workout clothes set out for the morning.  Sleep in them if necessary.
2. Put my friggen keys away, all the time.  This is an oft-commented-on situation in our home.  I lose my keys, my purse and my cell phone frequently.  If I would just put them AWAY, in the same SPOT each time – I would not have an issue.
3. Take responsibility for getting my own self out of bed.  This relates back to the last post – I am only cheating myself if I “cheat” on my program.  Hubby would probably be happy to have his naked wife snuggled up to him in bed – but I’ll be happier (and so will he in the end!) if I get myself out of bed and get the things done that I promise myself I’ll do.

I have heard it said:  “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results”

If I change nothing, nothing changes.

I do have to say, I, at 270lbs, was less than comfortable being at the gym with all the very fit people this morning.  But I stuck it out.   One small change in my thought processes.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Health, Self-esteem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

