Ignorance is bliss….

It’s 2pm.   The headache has kicked in.   My brain is letting me know that my caffeine levels have dropped dangerously low.

The solution?  Coffee.

The problem?  I don’t want to make a whole pot of coffee at the office because A: I only need one and B: I put lots of cream and sugar in my coffee, and I have a tendency to drink more coffee than water when there’s a brewed pot, so its not really a great idea for me to brew some.

The solution:  Go to the coffee shop nearby.

New problem:  The mountain bar.  ZOMG.  Nuts and seeds and grains, in bar form, drizzled with a thick ribbon of chocolate.  Binding agent? Real butter.  It is THE BEST bar in the world.  I feel like Homer Simpson near a donut when I have one.  They are that good.

Compounding problem: That time of the month and my body is craving  junk food.

I’m pouring my dark roast and pondering my dilemma.  It can’t have THAT many calories, can it?   Maybe I’ll just have a butter tart.  Cream and sugar in my coffee, stirring it up, I have a flash of memory.

336 calories.

EEP.  That’s the value of that cute little butter tart.

I pay for my coffee, leaving my poor mountain bar sitting on the display case.

I have an apple and a hard boiled egg for my afternoon snack.  And I have my coffee.

Ignorance is bliss, but knowledge is power. 

Tomorrow I’ll bring the single cup brewer I have at home to the office for my afternoon coffee.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Health, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

