Jillian Michaels

I have a love-hate relationship with Jillian Michaels.

She is by far, my favourite trainer on the Biggest Loser.  I love her fire, her attitude and how much she cares about the contestants on the show.

In all the years I’ve been watching her, I’ve always said that I would want to be trained by her.   She’s my idol.   She’s my inspiration.    She understands because she used to be fat.  And now she’s amazingly fit.

I don’t get to go on the Biggest Loser – but I can still be trained by “her” – and here’s where the hate part comes in.

She’s put out a yoga dvd.  This is not yoga for wimps.  I don’t even think it can properly be counted as yoga, except that she takes you through all sorts of yoga poses, but slightly differently.   Instead of being a slow, gentle stretch, she makes you move through them. 

I’m currently not flexible.  I’m currently not as strong as I’d like.  And she kicks my ass.

The very first time I tried this dvd, I quit after 5 minutes. The 2nd time – 10 minutes. 

Today I did 20 minutes of her 30 minute workout.  This is level 1. *insert shocked, scared and wtf did I get myself into face*

Even within the level 1 workout – there are different levels of intensity. 

I’m still at the OMFG I CAN BARELY KEEP GOING level of intensity – but I strive to reach the beginner level 😉

That’s not quite accurate – I’m fairly flexible in some parts of my body – I just need to work on my strength and endurance.   I think, with daily doses of Jillian, I can work up to going through the entire workout without stopping.

That’s goal 1.   The entire workout without stopping, breaking, or resting.

Today, I weighed myself – 269.  I’ve slipped in my eating habits, haven’t been counting calories or recording what I’ve been eating.

This is my reset day.

I would love, really LOVE, one in person workout with Jillian.  In the meantime… I will make use of the 2 books of hers I own and the 2 dvd’s I own.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Health, Jillian Michaels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

