It was a dark and stormy…

Closet?

When did my closet get to be so very black?

I used to own pretty colours.  I used to have a rainbow living in my closet, clothing of every hue brightening up my day.  I could choose from brilliant greens, deep dramatic reds, or pretty pinks to suit my mood.

Somewhere, as I got bigger, the colour disappeared.  Oh – don’t get me wrong,  there is the odd piece here and there, but the colours are muted.  Pieces of rainbows that should have faded long ago.   My closet consists mostly of black and white, with very few shades of grey.

If you dig deeper into the closet, you’ll find a lovely sunshine yellow dress, with beautiful red roses embossed on it. It’s one of the last remnants of my rainbow of clothing… it is a gorgeous dress,  bright and cheery, a classic line, figure hugging at the top and waist, flaring out to a flirty skirt at my hips.  A dress that, when I wore it, encouraged people to stop and look.

I wore it to a wedding 8 or 9 years ago.  I made it especially for the wedding, and haven’t worn it since.  

I wonder how many other women who are uncomfortable with their size have watched the rainbows fade from their closet?   

Black is certainly more slimming.   It hides the flaws – there’s no shadows to add an extra roll here or a bump there.  

Black also encourages people to look elsewhere.  Its a good way to hide.

I want my rainbow back. I don’t think it was intentional, all this dark and gloomy clothing, but I want my rainbow back.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Clothing, Colour, Self-esteem. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It was a dark and stormy…

  1. Pingback: I Need A New Wardrobe!! | Walking a Different Path

Leave a Reply

