Skiing… the morning saga…

I went skiing today for the first time in 20 years.  Was looking forward to it.  Planned for it.  Spent a stupid amount of money on it.

Borrowed snow pants, rented skis, got an Edge card. 

My friend and I got our kids loaded into the vehicle, skis and stuff all organized…even found my camera so I could take some pictures.  Was planning on a VERY good day.

We get up to the mountain.  Drop the kids off, bring our gear with us and after leaving the kids, put on our skis.  My skis won’t slide.  You know how you get on skis for the first time and you feel like you’re going to fall on your ass?  Nope, not me… these skis barely moved.  They were borrowed, and hadn’t been waxed in a long time.   They also hadn’t been used in a long time.

Struggle to get past the gondola, and planned on heading down to the Daylodge to pick up the Edge Cards and then head back up the mountain.  At this point I have had my gear on for about 30 minutes. My feet were SCREAMING at me.  Pain was NOT my friend.  Toes are either sleeping or screaming.  And the day is just starting.

We get to the top of the hill we’re heading down.  I took off the skis to perhaps make the boots fit better.  No loosening them.  Pain will be my constant companion for the day – and I haven’t even gotten down a hill yet.

Fuck.

Ok, fine… put on the damn skis again.  I’ll make this work.

My right ski won’t engage.

Try again.

Nope, it won’t engage.  It won’t click in.  I can’t get the SKI to stay ATTACHED to the boot.

Walk back to Base 2, hoping there’s a ski tech in there who can fix it.  

Its closed.  Dammit.  A nice ski school instructor looks at the ski… and tells me the binding broke.

*sigh*

Screw this – I’m going to rent a complete set of skis.  We have to make our way down to the Daylodge anyhow to get the Edge Cards…. walk back to the car.

Take off the boots… instantaneous relief.  ZOMG… my feet feels sooooo good.

Did I mention its only about 9.40?

Get to the Daylodge, get the Edge cards, go to rent skis & boots, discover that the boots are adjustable, but at this point, I don’t want to go back to the car to get the boots I had ALREADY RENTED, so say whatever, and rent a complete set. 

The guy who helped us was an idiot.   The only Whistler/Blackcomb staff I’ve ever seen that was unfriendly and unhelpful.   And he didn’t have a nametag on so I couldn’t even complain about him… *sigh*

Finally have boots, have skis, Kathy has all her stuff and we’re ready.

Drive back to Lot 7… park the car…. put on the skis… and away we go to the gondola.   What a lovely feeling 🙂

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

