Skiing… the afternoon debacle

Skiing!!!

We made it up the hill, got off the gondola, and headed up another lift… Got in a run and then had lunch.

Lunch at Glacier Creek… we’re both tired, legs are jello… but having fun.

Finish lunch, and we head down the mountain.  We’re hoping for a couple runs in before we pick up the boys for one last run of the day.

We’re both tired, we’re both using muscles we don’t normally use.

Neither of us have goggles and it is SNOWING up there, so we’re heading down the hill half blind.

I’m good with breaks… stoppages interspersed with speedy runs down the hill…

My cell phone rings.  My kid has been hurt and is being taken to the clinic, could I come?

I throw caution to the wind… and go as fast as I can…  And then…

As a side note, on February 6, 2010, I was wrestling with a friend and tore my MCL and ACL….

You know how a rubber band feels in your hand when you snap it?  That’s the feeling I had in my knee.  In the centre back where I had torn my ACL a year earlier.

This:

is how I made it down the rest of the hill.

I learned 3 things from skiing today:

1. I really like skiing.  My body naturally remembered HOW to go down the hill and had my legs been up to the task, today would have been an AMAZING day.

2. I should not be skiing at this weight.  My knees cannot handle it.

3. Lunges & squats are a necessity for the training I’m going to do over the next 9 months or so… because skiing WILL be a part of my winter starting next season…

The final verdict on my knee is that I’ve aggravated my ACL again.  I will be taking it easy, this will be a learning curve in how to exercise and get fit while not allowed to use my knee much.

Today… was an adventure 🙂  I look forward to tomorrow 🙂

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skiing… the afternoon debacle

  1. Sharon says:

    OMG! BTDT

    Hope your kid was OK.

    When I was 16, I took a crash skiing and damaged my ACL and probably a bunch of other stuff, but I didn’t get it checked out, just thought it was week. It wasn’t until about 8 years later that I took another crash. This one broke my bindings (they were set wrong and didn’t release), broke my leg and tore a ligament and finished off my ACL. While recovering from that I realized that the crash when I was 16 probably did way more damage that I realized.

    It was almost 10 years before I got on skis again and now I was over 200 lbs and only 5’3″. I spent the next 4 years going nearly every weekend and by year 2 my legs were awesome, even though I was still about 190. The weight made very little difference, except how clothes fit and I needed higher quality equipement (boots and skis) that could handle the extra force my wieght added.

    SO…. SKI SKI SKI after your knee heals of course. Take it slow, but keep doing it. Short days more often will help alot. Don’t know about your area, but around August, the season passes around here are about 1/2 price. When I was going 1-2 times a week, I would only ski about 3-4 hours per day.

    SQUATS, SQUATS, SQUATS, SQUATS… Does wonders for the week knees also. It builds up the muscles around the week knees to take some of the pressure off. One footed squats are great for balance. Now that I’ve told you what works great, I need to get busy and take my own advice. I didn’t ski on my birthday this year (free tickets on your birthday), because my legs are so out of shape, I was afraid, ashamed and embarased.

    HEAL FAST!

Leave a Reply

