Sleep…

I frequent a number of websites, mostly forum types, in addition to reading several blogs.

On one of my parenting websites, there was a poll about how to fit exercise into your day when you’ve got kids and you work full time.

My response caused some chatter – I require a minimum of 6.5  hours sleep a day.  I don’t function well at that level, and usually my body will force me to sleep closer to 8 hours a day.    Usually about 2 hours before I go to bed, I’m usually sleepy and lethargic – I COULD go to bed 2 hours earlier than I do.   Naps on my day off are not unheard of.

I used to be able to function well on 5-6 hours sleep.

Someone commented that as they got fitter, healthier, they required less sleep to function well.

There was a point in my life when I stayed up until 11-midnight every night, but was up at 5.45 am every morning.  I was very fit at that point.  The only thing (aside from age) that has changed in my life since then is my weight.

So it got me to thinking.

Being overweight affects a number of different areas in life.  It affects things like my self esteem, where I can sit (try sitting in most “fixed” chairs at 275lbs!!), what activities I can do, where I can shop for clothes.

Does it affect how much functional time I have in a day?

Probably yes.

Think about it this way:  A healthy sized woman, weighs, say 150lbs.   That’s a fairly healthy weight for me.   Give that poor woman a 125lbs backpack to wear ALL DAY EVERY DAY.

Tell me she won’t be tired.   Tell me she won’t want to have naps during the day, that she won’t start getting sleepy around 8.30-9pm and struggling to get out of bed at 7am.

Too much weight takes so much away.  This just gives me one more reason to stay focussed on getting healthy.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

