Mindless Eating…

We all do it.  We munch on handfuls of chips or popcorn while watching a movie.   We go back to the buffet table over and over again.

Most of these are momentary abberations in our lives – n0t a way of life.

But one doesn’t get to over 275lbs by an aberration or two.

I got to over 275lbs by mindlessly eating ALL THE TIME.

I had a bad weekend, food wise.  I over ate by about 1000 calories both Saturday and Sunday.  I got no exercise in.  I did, however get a very good book read today while eating way too much.

I think about how I felt last week – when I wasn’t sick and following my eating plan – compared to this weekend, when I ate like I used to.   At the end of today, I felt sluggish and tired and sick and lethargic.

And when my hubby handed me a serving of the same bedtime snack my kid was having, without even thinking about it, I ate it.   Didn’t even consider that I’d already eaten 1200 calories above my budget.   Just ate it.

Old habits die hard.

I have no drive or desire to do anything tonight, certainly getting up tomorrow is a mental struggle at this time.   I can’t imagine how I’ll have the energy to get up when my alarm goes off.

I have to go back to the beginning, it seems.  Granted, I’m 9 lbs lighter than when I started, so I haven’t totally messed up my progress, but it still feels the same.   Forcing myself out of bed in the morning to work out because as much as I don’t want to – I know it will feel good in the end.

Mindless eating this weekend has taken me back to the beginning…

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mindless Eating…

  1. sue says:

    9 lbs is great! May I suggest you stock your house with healthy snack options, rather than chips and things. Get your husband on board so that he’s not serving you snacks. Get the kids into eating a nice bowl of oatmeal at night if they’re hungry or fruit and yogurt. They likely don’t need chips in the house either. It’s so true, that we are what we eat. I hate eating junk as then I feel like junk. Surround yourself with lots of healthy options and get the family on board.

  2. Kathleen in Canada says:

    Here’s a quote I love and try to keep in mind: “Courage does not always roar. Sometimes it’s the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow’.”

Leave a Reply

