Shower every day…

I saw on facebook, a status that I thought was cool.

“Motivation doesn’t last – just like showers, you need to do it everyday”

I can get really really really excited and motivated about something for 10 minutes.   Sometimes that motivation lasts for a day.  If I’m really lucky, the motivation will last a week.

And then its not there.  I get frustrated, defeated, not seeing results fast enough, and I wonder what the point is.

Just like showering, its something I have to do every day.   I need to make a list of why I’m doing what I’m doing, and what the rewards will be for me at the end of it.   I need to balance that against the price I pay for those rewards.   I need to see if its worth it.

Last night, I ended my cleanse early.  The perceived rewards of the cleanse were not worth the price I was paying.

Exercising on a daily basis?  The price is that I have to alter my non-functional routine (a reward in itself) and perhaps sacrifice some time with my children (or not).  But the reward will be increased energy, better health, and better fitting clothing.   The rewards outweigh the price.

I just have to remind myself of that daily.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

