Day 1 – the cleanse

My weight has dropped another 1.5 lbs according to my scale… I am hoping this means that the weight is actually coming off rather than my scale is breaking. 

I miss coffee.  It tastes good.  Its got sugar and caffeine in it.  Its warm and creamy and a lovely way to start the day.

I received a reply on yesterdays post about the cleanse I’m on – and the assumption is that I’m on a starvation diet for 3 days, followed by eating, and therefore this is classic yo-yo dieting and I will gain weight when I start eating again.

The ingredients for my cleanse are as follows:

2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice (about 1/2 lemon)
2 tbsp pure maple syrup
1/10 tsp cayenne pepper
1-2 cups of water.

I’ve done the research – each serving of this (as above) is about 225 calories.   I will likely have 6-8 servings (alternating with water) over the day.  This amounts to 1350 – 1800 calories each day.  My food intake amounts to 1700 calories to lose 2.5 lbs per week.   I am not starving myself, I’m just not eating solid food to allow my body to cleanse itself of the toxins that have been building up in my body.

So… yes, starvation diets are bad, very bad.  It fucks with your metabolism, it leaves you feeling weak and dizzy and it is generally not healthy. 

This journey for me is not about losing weight, getting skinny or conforming to society’s ideals.  Its about getting healthy, getting fit, getting energy and being able to engage with my kids at their level.   Right now, none of that is true for me.

Day 1.  I miss coffee.  But I like the lemonade I’m drinking 😉

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 1 – the cleanse

  1. Kathleen in Canada says:

    I’m sure you’re losing weight and it’s not a broken scale. I don’t hold with the whole your body needs cleansing idea… your body is self-cleaning. But three days isn’t going to do anything bad except give you a possible stomach ache from the lemon and cayenne mixture. It’s how you continue to eat that matters.

    Good luck!

  2. Kimmyfrom NS says:

    I just think that for 1700 calories, you could get a lot of good healthy food, or liquid. There’s not much that’s ‘healthy’ in your cleanse as it’s lacking in any nutrition. You could have liquid drinks of vegetable smoothies and protein, and get more nutrition that way, with no more calories.

    I’m wondering if your friend who is big on cleanses, has perfect health and perfect weight?

    I agree though, that three days won’t really harm you, it’s what you do the three days and three months after that. Your goal is to become healthy and I certainly applaud you for that.. we need lots of things to become healthy, including nutrients from food (or liquid) – please look after yourself, and good luck with your long term health!

  3. Kimmyfrom NS says:

    Anyone I know who does ‘cleanses’ and ‘diets’ seem to be overweight and not particularly healthy!

    All the best with your quest for health and fitness – it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

