Skiing…

When I was in high school, education was well funded, and we had things like “Sports Day” where the school would organized 8 or 10 different sport type activities that weren’t the “norm”  or were slightly out of reach financially for students.

Every year I chose skiing.  My 8 lessons allowed me to get to a point of being able to ski blue runs.  I was pretty good.  I enjoyed it.  It was fun.  But we were in the catagory of “its slightly out of reach” and I stopped.

My 10 year old is starting ski lessons on Monday.  Whistler/Blackcomb offers a phenomenal program – for $200 plus tax, my child gets 6 lessons/days of skiing, lunch and rentals.  An amazing deal.  His younger brother opted out this year, that’s fine – next year we’ll sign him up – he’s doing karate instead.

My husband, due to physical limitations, cannot ski.

Which means that unless *I* step up and get on the slopes again, the $200 will be wasted – I’m not comfortable with sending him up on the hill alone, and I don’t know many people who ski (or maybe I do, but just don’t know it)

I’m going to ski again.    At least once or twice this season, I will splurge, spend the money on rentals and lift tickets, and go up the mountain and *probably* fall on my ass while my kid laughs at me.

But I’m going to ski again.   I’ll post pictures to prove it.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skiing…

  1. Sharon says:

    So jealous right now. This is the second year I can’t afford to get season passes to our local hill. Do lots of squats to get your legs ready. Just a suggestion, but rent the better equipement, stiffer boots and stiffer skis, it makes a big difference, especially for those of us that are heavier.

Leave a Reply

