Not just about losing weight…

Its about getting healthy.

I don’t have a lot of energy.  I’ve had, for the longest time, a routine that consists of sitting on my ass.

I’m spoiled.  I admit it.  My hubby is a stay at home dad and he does everything he can to make my life easier.  Breakfast and dinner are usually made for me and served to me.   He does a LOT around here.  So I’ve gotten spoiled.

I get up in the morning, I make coffee (because I’m up before anyone) and fix us both one.  Old routine involves me having a shower, getting dressed and sitting on the couch surfing the net while he brings me coffee & breakfast.   Then I go to work.

Evening routine involves me coming home, dinner is ready immediately, after dinner we all sit on the couch and that’s pretty much where I stay until bed time.   Boys join me there for snuggles and reading and watching movies.

Lately I’ve noticed that around 2.30, no matter how much or how little coffee/water I’ve drunk, I’m tired.   I am “if-I-close-my-eyes-I’m-asleep” tired.    Doesn’t matter if I’m at work or at home – I want/need a nap at that time.

I have no energy.  

Ever notice that to get something, you have to have some of it to  begin with?  Its a paradox.  You have to have money to invest, to make more money.  You have to have job experience to get a job.  You have to have energy to generate more energy.

I have no energy.

Getting back to the whole healthy thing – I have been pondering the cause of my lack of energy.

Lack of iron seems to be the most likely culprit.   My previous diet/method of eating had NO nutritional value to it.   I have heavy periods.   We don’t eat a lot of red meat.  I don’t like liver.

So my plan of action, before I see my doctor on Thursday, is to add a multi vitamin supplement with extra iron in it to see if that helps my energy levels.

In the meantime – I’ll continue to change my eating habits, continue the exercise plan, and see where it gets me by next Wednesday.

Edited for grammatical errors.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not just about losing weight…

  1. lynne says:

    What are you eating? I bet you have no energy, because you are not feeding your body anything decent. If you had fruit, veggies, protein and complex carbs, I bet you wouldn’t be saying you had no energy or needed iron! have a small snack every 2 – 3 hours. keep a few almonds in your desk drawer. Drink lots of water. Oh… get rid of the tv!!

    • sunnyjane says:

      Hi Lynne – thanks for the comment. I also have several other symptoms that indicate I likely have low iron. 🙂

  2. lynne says:

    Sorry Sunnyjane, of course you could have low iron. I would have it too, but since I can’t stand iron pills, I eat spinach every day! Hope the other comments or suggestions help though. There are lots of foods you can eat to give you energy, and likewise, many you can stop eating that deplete your energy!! Oh and… get rid of the tv (LOL )

  3. Kathleen in Canada says:

    Spinach is a good idea coupled with vitamin C. So a spinach salad with tomatoes and/or peppers or spinach added to tomato sauce. If you have a cast iron frying pan, use it to cook spaghetti sauce. The sauce is acidic and will leach iron from the pan.

    I’m a vegetarian and my iron levels are very good. But I eat lots of dark leafy greens with tomatoes and peppers. Lots of whole grain foods. And lots of fresh fruits and vegetables.

    The healthier you eat and the more consistently you exercise… the better you’ll feel!

Leave a Reply

