Biggest Loser

I’ve watched the show for many years – sat on my ass eating ice cream or chips or popcorn or whatever and laughing because I’d never get “that big”

So the gym I belong to has started up a “Biggest Loser” contest.   Same basic rules – weigh in once a week – biggest percentage of weight loss means that you win.

5 people including me signed up.  I accidentally saw the other contestant’s weights.   I outweigh them all by a minimum of 70lbs. 

Stepped on that scale… the number is 278.2.   That is a scary weight.  That is the weight of the “heavier” girls on the TV show.   I AM that big.

And I don’t have Bob and Jillian.

What I do have is a desire to get healthy – to enjoy my time with my boys, to go fishing with my hubby, to be able to shop off the regular sized racks in the stores.

The ISSC certified personal trainer in charge of this whole challenge is young. Cute and bubbly and looks and sounds all of 12.   She’s never been fat in her life.  She’s teeny tiny size zero type small.  And she’s never heard of some of the major weight loss programs.

So while I will be checking in with her for the challenge – I will not be relying on her as a source of how to lose weight.  I know how to lose weight – I just haven’t done it. 

Now its time. 

This is my journey to health.  Thank you for joining me.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Biggest Loser

  1. suzie says:

    Keep it up. Pretty soon you won’t be able to stand McD ; even my kids hate their food. They rarely if ever eat it, and therefore they feel sick or, yuk if they have to eat junk. I’ve always cooked real food, even real pasta and real cheese takes minutes to make and so much better for you than junky fake KD. Honestly, your tastes will change. I keep tons of fruit and vegetables so that I can always eat that. I don’t care if I have nothing else, so long as I have produce.
    Why have chips and ice cream in your house? Make up a huge bowl of fruit salad. Get some good cottage cheese and good quality yogurt, and ym.. that’s all the sweets you need. Soon you’ll feel sick if you eat empty fat filled, fake ice cream.
    Get frugal – think how much cheaper it is if you go home to eat, or take food with you, instead of buying junk.
    Remember, that even the calories and fat posted by those fast/junk/cancer food places, are actually low!!Check the CBC’s website, as they’ve done some great work on this, and show how the fat and calorie content of those places are actually much higher!!

    Set low, reasonable goals, and if you ‘crack’ and have a cookie, so what. Just have one or two. And, of course, make your own.

Leave a Reply

