Burpees…

I remember a year or so ago, being in a boot camp style workout class…. doing burpees.

Having to step back into them.

Not being able to jump in and out of them.

Thinking that ZOMG I would never get them. They were only for the very fit.

A couple months ago, Mala Justed had come back from RollerCon in Vegas and was talking about one of the well known skaters (I *think* luludemon?)

(as a side note, I know it was Mala who was talking about it, but I can’t be sure of any other details – perhaps if she reads this, she can clarify details)

At any rate – Mala said that someone else said that we should be doing 10 burpees a day.   Again, could be wrong.  But that sticks in my head.

So yesterday I found that amazing workout.  Thinking to myself – yeah sure, I’m going to do that but my burpees will SUCK.  But determined that it will be 3 days a week of that workout for a while.  The athlete in that video has an amazing bod and I want that amazing bod.

Today was supposed to be my first of those workouts.   I ended up staying up late with a friend who had been having a bad night.   Did not get enough sleep.  Woke up half an hour later than I wanted to – not enough time to do the full workout.

But I figured I could do some sort of workout, anyhow.

Did crunches.  Stretches.  Then sat here thinking about burpees.  I could do…. 12 burpees.  They’d be pathetic, but I could do them.  I surfed the net a bit longer.  Thought about putting some witty status on facebook about how I was avoiding them.  Decided to get off my ass and do them instead.

WTF?

When did I get the ability to JUMP from crouch to plank and back?

Yeah, I was slow, and yeah, they were basic burpees (stand, crouch, jump back to plank, jump back to crouch, stand or jump back up depending on how much energy I could put out.  No pushups, not a lot of jumping but they were burpees)

But I DID THEM!!  TWELVE of them!!!!

It may, to my fitter friends, seem like a silly thing.  But for me, this is a HUGE change in my body’s abilities.

While I’m still mad about not being able to go to the Thursday roller derby practice, I’m going to take Jo up on her offer to get in there before practice to get my skate on for 1/2 hour or so.   I’m going to spend some time this weekend coming up with a plan and stick with it.  I’m going to get there.

I am fitter than I thought.  That excites me to no end.

Its time to stop thinking about myself as the fat chick who can’t, and start thinking of myself as someone who CAN!!

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Burpees…

  1. shortshoestring says:

    I am always amazed at how much we sell ourselves short – I do it in all kinds of ways, not just in my physical abilities, but in all areas of my life. Finding success in one small thing – like burpies can transfer into so many other small successes! You go!

Leave a Reply

